Wednesday, April 8, 2009


Today, the Cafe welcomes Jeannine Garsee, celebrating the publication of her second YA novel, Say the Word, published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens Books. She is also the author of Before, After and Somebody Inbetween.

The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.
Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Melissa W.: What was your inspiration for this story?

Jeannine: The gay marriage issue received a lot of attention back in 2006, which started the wheels turning. I’d also done a paper in sociology class about the children of gay couples and what happens to these kids when the couples either break up, or one of the parents dies. I wanted to explore this subject, so I wrote the story.

Melissa W.: Do you remember writing the first words? Are they still the same?

Jeannine: Yes, the first paragraph is very similar to the first words I word—unlike my first novel where the opening lines were changed many, many times before the book was published.

Melissa W.: What kind of research did you have to do for this story?

Jeannine I actually did quite a lot—most of it was reading, visiting websites, and familiarizing myself with firsthand accounts by straight children of gay parents, plus the research I’d done for my earlier paper. I also drew on my own experiences for certain aspects of the story.

Melissa W.: What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Jeannine: Finding the time to write, first of all. As for the writing process itself, I have a terrible time maintaining the timeline in the story. My first drafts are always all over the place.

Melissa W.: I hear you, sister. What are you working on now?

Jeannine: A YA paranormal that I am totally in love with!

Melissa W.: Oo! Love the sound of that. Tell us something about you that no one knows.

Jeannine: I can play Mary Had a Little Lamb by clicking my teeth with a fingernail.

Melissa W.: You are my new best friend! How did you become a writer?

Jeannine: I was born a storyteller. Then I learned how to write. It comes naturally to me. I’ve never taken a college level creative writing class. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do, but it took a lot of years to discipline myself enough to actually write a book and see it through to publication.

Melissa W.: What is your favorite line, passage, chapter from this book?

Jeannine: I love the scene where, at a family dinner, Shawna’s father calls her “stupid” and she tells him off for the first time. I swear I cheered when I wrote it.

Melissa W.: What's on your nightstand right now?

Jeannine: A doggie chew, my alarm clock, and a pack of Nicorette gum.

Melissa W.: Besides writing, do you have any other passions?

Jeannine: I love reading, of course, and live theater.

Melissa W.: Have you ever wanted to quit writing? Why?

Jeannine: I’ve considered it because I’m often overwhelmed trying to balance writing with my regular job and family responsibilities. Although I don’t have any immediate plan to stop writing for publication, if I did I would still continue to write for pleasure.

Melissa W.: If you could be anything else besides a writer, what would it be?

Jeannine: Realistically, I’d like to teach creative writing or work with animals. In my dreams I’d be a star on Broadway!

Thanks so much, Jeannine! And congratulations on the publication of your fantastic new book. You can visit Jeannine at her website.

~~~Cafe Note~~ As a regular part of our interviews, featured authors will pop back in for one week after their interview is posted to answer any other questions blog readers may leave for them. So if you have any questions or comments for Jeannine, post them now! She'd love to hear from you!

12 comments:

ophelialaughs said...

Guess what's on my nightstand? That's right, Say the Word. I'm on chapter 15, and you still rule.

Okay, here's a question for ya. When the world is too much with you and there's simply not enough time for family+dog, work, and writing, what's the very first thing that gets put by the wayside?

onegrapeshy said...

I hate to say it, but writing is usually the first thing that goes--especially if I have to decide, do I take a nap or hit the keyboard?

The worst thing about this is that I honestly feel my writing defines me and when I'm not able to write, I "lose sight" of myself. I'm crabby and unhappy. Luckily this doesn't happen that often. And if you could see my house you'd know that writing ALWAYS takes precedence over housework! ;)

Lisa Yak said...

Loving the book so far! Two questions, sort of related:

Did you find the writing process easier this time around?

What did you learn after getting your first book published that helped you with your current novel?

onegrapeshy said...

PS: Holly, I'm now a firm believer in doggy day care. :)

beckylevine said...

Great interview. I really want to read that scene where Shawna stands up for herself!

onegrapeshy said...

Hi, Lisa. Yes, the writing process was much easier the second time. Part of this was because I was able to look at my novel more as a "product." After going through the editing process with my first editor (and my agent as well, initially) I was much better at self-editing; although I often get carried away with my first drafts, later, in the revision process, I found it easier to slash unneeded scenes/dialog/description, etc. The biggest thing I learned was not to "overwrite" and to be able to let go of my words. Because of this, I wrote and revised my second novel in a fraction of the time it took me to write the first.

marypearson said...

Jeannine, congratulations on your new book! I have heard fantastic things about it and it sounds wonderful--can't wait to read it!

onegrapeshy said...

Thank you, Becky and Mary. :)

Laura said...

I'm writing for Jeannine Garsee, she will answer your questions when she gets her computer back from the guy who took it to fix her shift key!

She loves you all!

onegrapeshy said...

And now I am back. This mess with my computer could not have happened at a worst time. :)

Jeannine

Anonymous said...

christian louboutin
boots
high heels
womens boots
heels
women's shoes
knee boots
women's boots
black shoes
boots shoes
new shoes
high boots
black boots
manolo
Chloe
christian
----------------------------------------------
christian

shoes

manolo blahnik
giuseppe

zanotti

miu miu
christian

louboutin pumps

christian

shoes spring 2010

salvatore

ferragamo

jimmy choo
choo shoes
christian

louboutin shoes

christian

louboutin pumps

manolo sale
blanhnik shoes
miu miu shoes
knee

high boots

thigh

high boots

knee

high

pumps shoes
red

shoes

brown shoes
leather

shoes

louboutin size shoes
black leather shoes
leather shoes

boots

designer

shoes

women's sandals

hyshen said...

After read your blog, I think you are a wonderful person, for your blog is the best one I have ever seen. If you do not mind, I would like to know do you like fashion? Have you ever heard of polo shirts, which are very chic, especially the polo t shirts, I love them very much. I also like playing tennis rackets, it can keep healthy, what do you like to do? I consider it as my great pleasure to introduce myself as the outlet of polo t shirts women
polo t shirts on sale
and the warmly welcomed
polo t shirts for women
Now. I'd like to introduce our masterpieces, such as
polo shirts on sale
polo shirts men
men's polo shirt
men polo shirt
mens polo shirts
mens polo shirt
besides we also sell
cheap polo shirts
discount polo shirts
men's polo shirts
women's polo shirts
Which are popular with fashinable people. We are also the outlet of
cheap tennis racket
discount tennis racket
in this sporty season, we recommend
prince tennis racquet
head tennis rackets
wilson tennis racket
babolat tennis racquet
There more new products in our store online, we are expecting you to come. We can say that you must find your satisfied things in our store.